Posted by: Angela | August 11, 2006

The angst

As the darling daughter just sat in the shower last night crying pitifully, I was once again struck by the similarities between the preschool years and teenage years.  I have been saying this since she hit about two.  While you ask yourself why I would make this comparison when I only have a preschooler, my husband has been working with teens most of his professional life and I have worked with teens as a volunteer.  Now that LHM works at the school of all teen girls, it is even more obvious. 

It is currently all drama, all the time at our house.  Every fall is the world crashing to a halt, all small scrapes, hang nails, bumps, and sock lines need band-aids, love and reassurance that it will be okay and then two minutes it’s the same thing all over again.  There is this new drama note added to crying which annoys me but makes others say “Poor little dear are you all right?”  But the most dramatic is the sniffs, you know the kind that after you cry really hard that you get, well those go on and on.  After something the other day, she was playing with Legos and about every two minutes I would hear “SNIFF”.  No tears, no pain, just sniffs, for something like an hour. 

Yes, I know that this is normal for little girls.  But as I was not the drama child in my family and my husband is most definately not the one with drama in his family, that perhaps we would escape some of the drama until she hit teen years.  Even as I write she is emoting about getting dressed (not a problem until very recently). 

What is also interesting in all of this is since LHM works with drama all day, he often has much less tolerance for it by the time he gets home.  I don’t know whether this is good or bad.  But it is for certain that darling daughter is going to drama her way into or out of something when she hits seventeen with daddy.

As for my theory regarding preschool years compared to teen years, I know there are very obvious differences.  However, they are intense developmental years.  There are the physical growth spurts.  Emotionally, both preschoolers and teens encounter situations with intensity.  They all learn to put words to what they are feeling and doing.  Preschoolers are learning about such concepts such as symbols (letters, numbers), words for feelings, and that people exist separate from them.  Teens (and pre-teens) are beginning to learn abstract concepts in math and science, how to have healthy relationships without their parents there to arbitrate for them, etc.  I really do believe this is an idea that could be a someone’s dissertation.  No, not mine, I really don’t want my dissertation to fall into the fields of physiology, neurology, education etc.  (I still want to do hard science in some field that most people don’t care about.).

Well onward to another drama filled day…I should not complain about lack of entertainment. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

