Posted by: Angela | August 17, 2006

Ten whole years

Today we have been married for ten years. 

I am celebrating by having the Darling Daughter watch Cinderella, one of the movies responsible for many grown womens’ skewed view on love and marriage.  I say this tongue in cheek, but really how many are waiting at be invited to the ball and be discovered. 

It is somewhat surprising to reach the decade mark in marriage.  I always expected to do it and beyond.  I believe the surprise is that amidst all the other dreams and plans from that time in my life that haven’t come to pass our marriage have endured and grown and sustained us.  I wouldn’t trade it for the world.  I married the best friend a girl could have.  Truly only the Lord knows why he puts up with me. 

I figure as long as Darling Daughter compares every man to her daddy, she can watch Cinderella because men like my wonderful husband just don’t dance out of the crowd at a party because they aren’t the ones dancing, they are standing in corner watching everyone else.

Responses

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog. It was really nice to have you pop up there. I’ve just spent a bit browsing through your writings, and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Greetings to LHM and DD!

    Blessings,
    -Amy

  2. Happy anniversary! Sounds like you hit the jackpot with your hubby 🙂

  3. I feel the same way. My Eddie would be standing, in the farthest corner he could find.

    The thought of Gabriel comparing women to me is kind of scary, but I hope that he does!

    I think they (spouses) put up with us because deep down inside they know they need us for all those things they don’t want to admit. They know we know, without them saying, and that is their security.
    Debbie


Leave a Reply

Categories

