Posted by: Angela | August 19, 2006

Life’s hard moments

When I am disciplining Darling Daughter, I have run into an interesting internal struggle.  I really do understand the purpose of discipline in a person’s life and that parents really should be the people to help their children learn the realities of life.  However, I don’t like being the person that is helping this child learn LIFE IS HARD. 

I know, both in abstract and in concrete examples, that if my child does not have discipline in her life, that her life will be much harder in the future.  But as I watch the emotions flicker across her face as she is in time out or when we are talking about the situation, something in my heart breaks.  I desire for my child to believe that life can be good and fun and joyful and everything else that wonderful.  I want the lyrics of “What a Wonderful World!” to be true in her life.  I want to gather her in my arms and cover her little face with kisses and sometimes I do this.  I want her life to be easy, I want her not to “learn things the hard way” as my family says.

Finally, my friends, keep your minds on whatever is true, pure, right, holy, friendly, and proper.  Don’t ever stop thinking about what is truly worthwhile and worthy of praise.                     ~St. Paul (Philippians 4:8, The Message)   

He has shown you, O man, what is good.  And what does the LORD require of you?  To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.                                                  ~The prophet Micah (Micah 6:8, NIV)

The bigger picture in the above quotes are what I really want for my little girl.  I want  all those characteristics to describe her and to be things that she values and thinks upon.  So I keep on with discipline/consequences when we as parents deem it necessary and then I gather her up and cover that little face with kisses and reassurances of our love and belief that while life has hard moments, it doesn’t have to hard always.   

Responses

  1. Your writing really strikes a cord with me. I am enjoying your site very much.

  2. Thank you very much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

